Fighting the Urge to Spend

If you are in the process of trying to get rid of debt and becoming financially stable, you have probably been tempted to spend your money on things that you don’t really need.  Even when you are already financially free, temptation can still hit you pretty hard.  I found myself in this scenario last week.

I love basketball.  Anybody who has a true passion for the sport knows that basketball sneakers and basketball itself go hand in hand.  That being said, basketball sneakers are what I call my kriptonite.  In other words, you put a pair of brand new sneakers in front of me, and the temptation to buy them becomes very irresistible.  When I was young and didn’t really think about saving or investing, a big part of my income was going into collecting shoes.  I amassed a collection of over 80 sneakers.  Many of this have gone unworn for years.  Flash forward to the present and I see the huge money error I committed.  Now that need to buy shoes has diminished, but I also make sure to stay away from stores and websites that sell or deal with the subject so I’m not tempted to go and buy another pair that I don’t need.

Now I am in the process of selling many of this shoes through eBay.  The good thing is that most of this shoes will make me a profit so I will have some extra cash to spend and save.  The bad thing is that to find out how much to charge for them I had to do some research on the very websites I’m trying to stay away from.  As I browse these websites, I found myself fighting the urge to buy more shoes!

So how can one fight temptation to spend money unnecessarily?  In the next post I will give some tips on how to do this.

1 comment so far

  1. […] Unfortunately, the urge to spend will still be there even after you have control of your finances (take a look at my sneaker incident).  So what are some ways one can control this urge?  Here are some tips that I have gathered that […]


Leave a Reply

