Taking the First Step Into Savings

Last week, a friend and I began talking about saving for the future.  I told him about my current plans and how I’m saving about 20% of my income annually for retirement.  He told me he really has not saved anything.  Personal circumstances had put him in a situation where he thinks he can’t save for himself right now.  As the conversation progressed, he asked me for some advice.  What should I invest on?  Where do I do it?  How do I start?  His focus was more on the investing side of the equation.  I told him that right now, that is not as important as taking action.  The last question was what I thought was the most important one-How do I start?

If you ever wanted to loose weight, change jobs, or any type of situation that might require some deep thinking, the most important thing you can do is to take action.  Taking that first step is what will help lay the road for the future.  This concept is no different when talking about personal finance.  Don’t worry about the schematics of investing.  Worry about doing something to get you started.

The first step you should take should be taking a closer look into what you spend your money on.  I had asked my friend if he new what his income was after expenses.  He didn’t know.  I told him to just take a look at where his money is actually going.  Then, he will notice  that either A) He needs to find a way to increase his income B) Decrease his expenses C) Both.

It does not matter how large or how small the amount of savings you put aside is.  The important thing is to do it.  When I first started saving for retirement, I could only save about 50 dollars a month, sometimes even less.  But that didn’t discourage me.  In fact, it motivated me into saving even more.  When you start to see your savings grow, you want to keep feeding it more and more.  You start to notice that you can maybe save a little bit more this month.  As the next month rolls around, you noticed that you can save a little bit more.  Soon, saving will become a habit.

As the saying goes “the journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step”.  So open a high yield savings accountlive more frugally, read about personal finance, do whatever it takes to get the ball rolling in savings. 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

