Discovering Your Local Library

 

books

I mentioned in a previous post my love for movies.Going to the movie theatre, or renting movies at a video store can become an expensive activity. While reading other personal finance blogs, I learned about using your local library to not just check out books, but to check out movies as well. So about two months ago, I decided to give it a try.

The last time I went to a library was about a year ago while I was still in college so I didn’t feel “out of place”. It was different though, because the library I was using was the one at the University, so the environment was somewhat altered. As I walked in, I noticed how busy it was. It was a Monday morning, so I didn’t think it would be too busy. There were kids from a local kinder-garden attending a workshop and a group from a retirement home checking out some books as well. The place was surely running.

 I went to the front desk and talked to one of the librarians. I asked her if they had DVDs to check out. She politely told me that they did and showed me to the area where they had them. I was surprised at how many DVDs they had. They had over 7 bookshelves filled with them. They even had them separated by category and alphabetically as well. The librarian told me that their collection keeps on growing and they keep on having to expand it. She said that she remember when they only had enough movies to just fill a bin and they didn’t even bother with sorting them. I looked around and grabbed two movies. I went back to the front and asked the librarian if she could give me the form to fill out so I could get a library card. She gladly did and in less than 10 minutes I was ready to check out.

The next day, I came back again to check out a book. I knew the exact book that I wanted but unfortunately they didn’t have it. I asked the librarian if there was anything we could do about it. She told me that they can order the book in an in about two weeks the book will be in for me to check out. I asked her if that can be done with their movie collection but she told me that not at this time. It was worth a shot.

For the last two months, I have been visiting the library about once a week.  I have become hooked to the library! I just love not having to spend money on books and certain DVDs as well.  At first, I was hesitant about going to the library.  Don’t ask me why, but I fell like it was better to buy a book than checking it out from the library.  How dumb was I.  I am saving money and not filling my bookshelves with books that I will only read once and never pick up again.

So give your local library a try.  Just be forewarned.  Once you checkout once, you may never stop.

1 comment so far

  1. vigilant20 on

    Great post! I adore the library and visit it weekly as well. Most people forget you can get movies and music there too.

    Many libraries work in conjunction with others in the area so that their collection is much larger than what is actually on the shelves. I don’t even browse anymore, I pick the ones I want online from anything in the county, and they’ll deliver it to my local library and notify me when I can pick it up.


Leave a Reply

