Embracing the frugal lifestyle

Many of my colleagues at work think that my choice of lifestyle is weird. They really don’t
understand the meaning of frugality, so the moment I tell them, the first thing that comes to their minds is cheapness, no fun, and and whole bunch of restrictions. They really think it is odd that I don’t have any debt, I save over 20% of my salary a year for retirement, and I don’t lust over expensive objects. Nevertheless, once I dive deeper into explaining to them that being frugal doesn’t mean being cheap, they start understanding what it really means.

The first thing I want to clarify is that my definition of frugality can be very different from yours. So I will start by using a standard definition. Webster’s definition of frugal is “one who is not wasteful”. To me that is the simplest way to explain what frugal is. Frugality is clearly understanding what is a want, and what is a need. Frugality applies to food, clothes, cars, etc. Frugality is not just bound to how and where you spend money.

This post is is to become one of many in deciphering frugality. We have established its simplest definition. Next we will put it into context what frugality is and dealing with the stigma from others.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

